2010 State of Origin Teams & Betting

May 19th, 2010

Footy fans across the nation are dividing into two camps. You are either a Maroons’ fan cheering for the Queenslanders to score their record fifth consecutive State of Origin series win this year, or a Blues’ supporter backing the boys from down south to rise up to the challenge and snare their first Origin title in five years.

That’s right, it’s time for the 2010 Harvey Norman State of Origin, one of the absolute best times of the season for Rugby League Betting.

With both the Queensland and New South Wales teams decided this week, Ladbrokes.com.au have opened up early State of Origin betting markets in anticipation of next Wednesday night’s opening game.

With expert playmaker Darren Lockyer named the Maroons skipper for another year, Queensland are not surprisingly the current favourites to take out the series at $1.70 through Ladbrokes.com.au, their recent dominance in the State v State showdown reflected in their odds.

This year the Maroons take their best men out on the field again including Melbourne Storm star Greg Inglis (No. 3), the red hot Israel Folau (No. 5), big Sam Thaiday (No. 12) and Cowboys captain Johnathan Thurston (No. 7).

On the bench Queensland have named two rookies in Cooper Cronk (No. 14) and David Taylor (No. 17).

If you think this is the winning squad then get in early and bet on the Maroons, but if players on debut make you nervous and you like the current $2.15 underdogs, then visit Ladbrokes.com.au and put your money on the Blues.

The New South Wales line up, captained by Kurt Gidley and coached by Craig Bellamy, is one of the most impressive in recent years including the NRL’s top-tryscorer of the season Brett Morris on the right wing, Manly’s Jamie Lyon winning the fight for the Blue No. 6 jersey, veteran Brett Kimmorley playing in halfback, and Jarryd Hayne appearing once again on the left wing.

Aside from the standard Series Winner wagers, Ladbrokes.com.au have also got Rugby League betting odds on the Series Result of each match. So if you think Queensland will come out firing in the opening two rounds, but that we will see a repeat of last year’s game three where the Blues stole the show, then this combination of Queensland 2 – 1 is currently paying $2.80!

How will the Origin selections affect the NRL teams in the premiership? Follow the 2010 NRL Telstra Premiership, replacement players for Origin stars, State of Origin Betting odds and match previews and results at NRLleague.

For a comprehensive rundown of the 2010 Origin squads and selection details visit State of Origin Teams.

State of Origin – Game 1 Team Lists

QLD Maroons Squad:



Current NRL Team

1 Billy Slater Melbourne Storm
2 Darius Boyd St George Illawarra Dragons
3 Greg Inglis Melbourne Storm
4 Willie Tonga North Queensland Cowboys
5 Israel Folau Brisbane Broncos
6 Darren Lockyer (c) Brisbane Broncos
7 Johnathan Thurston North Queensland Cowboys
8 Matthew Scott North Queensland Cowboys
9 Cameron Smith Melbourne Storm
10 Petero Civoniceva Penrith Panthers
11 Nate Myles Sydney Roosters
12 Sam Thaiday Brisbane Broncos
13 Ashley Harrison Gold Coast Titans
14 Cooper Cronk Melbourne Storm
15 David Shillington Canberra Raiders
16 Neville Costigan St George Illawarra Dragons
17 David Taylor South Sydney Rabbitohs
18th Man
18 Ben Te’o Brisbane Broncos

NSW Blues Squad:



Current NRL Team

1 Kurt Gidley (c) Newcastle Knights
2 Brett Morris St George Illawarra Dragons
3 Matt Cooper St George Illawarra Dragons
4 Timana Tahu Parramatta Eels
5 Jarryd Hayne Parramatta Eels
6 Jamie Lyon Manly Sea Eagles
7 Brett Kimmorley Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
8 Michael Weyman St George Illawarra Dragons
9 Michael Ennis Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
10 Josh Perry Manly Sea Eagles
11 Trent Waterhouse Penrith Panthers
12 Ben Creagh St George Illawarra Dragons
13 Anthony Watmough Manly Sea Eagles
14 Jamal Idris Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
15 Tom Learoyd-Lahrs Canberra Raiders
16 Luke Lewis Penrith Panthers
17 Brett White Melbourne Storm