Dragons Thrash Roosters in 2010 NRL Grand Final

October 5th, 2010

On Sunday night the St George Illawarra Dragons officially shrugged off their ‘chockers’ tag when they fought back from a halftime deficit to thrash the Sydney Roosters 32 – 8 in the muddy 2010 NRL Grand Final at ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

Securing their first Premiership title in over thirty years and their sole Grand Final win as a joint-venture club, the red and whites rewarded their loyal supporters with one of the strongest victories in NRL history.

Coach Wayne Bennett has now earned his place in the Rugby League history books as the greatest coach the game has seen, maintaining his perfect Grand Final record with his seventh Premiership.

It was the start of a new era of dominance for the Dragons with back-to-back Minor Premiership wins and now the coveted Grand Final victory in the bag.

Rugby League fans can bet that St George will be back bigger and better next year and will start the hot favourites in the ante-post betting markets at Sportsbet to win the 2011 NRL Grand Final!

2010 NRL Grand Final Highlights

  • Dragons coach Wayne Bennett secures his seventh Grand Final win – third against Roosters coach Brian Smith
  • St George Illawarra’s first Grand Final victory since 1979
  • Mark Gasnier was the first tryscorer in the 7th minute
  • Roosters dominated the first half with tries to skipper Braith Anasta and Mitchell Aubusson
  • Result kept close as Todd Carney missed both conversion attempts for the Chooks
  • Sydney up 8 – 6 at halftime
  • Dragons came back in the second half with four unanswered tries
  • Jason Nightingale scored a Grand Final double for St George
  • Dean Young scored the Dragon’s fourth try filling the boots of his father Craig, who captained the Saints to their 1979 Premiership win
  • St George maintained their record of not having conceded any second half points throughout the 2010 NRL finals
  • Final score was 32 – 8 in part thanks to Jamie Soward’s brilliant 6/7 record on the boot
  • Red and White fullback Darius Boyd was awarded the Clive Churchill Medal

Follow the link for a more comprehensive 2010 NRL Grand Final Match Review.

The 2010 NRL Telstra Premiership series is now officially over and Rugby League betting fans will be looking towards the post-season games on the calendar to fill the void till next year’s NRL comp!

First up is the Four Nations series giving footy fans plenty to get excited about.

You can already get in on the betting action of the 2010 Four Nations through Sportsbet who have Australia as the clear $1.20 favourites to win.

Stay tuned for our Four Nations betting updates and in the meantime if you haven’t already, head over to Ladbrokes.com.au and sign up with the online bookie where more Aussie punters win big!